J. R. R. Tolkien and C. S. Lewis were great friends. And I have heard that C. S. Lewis based a lot of his stories on stories from the bible. Did J. R. R. Tolkien do the same thing too?

If he did, I think I can see it. The Maia (the wizards) are immortal, taking the form of man, like how Jesus was immortal and took the form of Man. But the Maia makes it very difficult to understand, because Saruman was a Maia, and he betrayed the good guys, like how Judas betrayed Jesus. So the Maia are very difficult to interpret.

Sauron, the main antagonist, was a fallen Maia. It reminds me of How Satan, the main antagonist of real life, was once an angel. So maybe the Maia are supposed to be based on angles. But some angels with Satan fell with him too; but no wizards are turned into orcs in the books/nor movies.

Maybe the Maia are based on the disciples (just in smaller numbers). Juda was a disciple, and he betrayed Jesus; just like how Saruman was a wizard, and he betrayed the good guys. But again with Satan, who was never a disciple.

If J. R. R. Tolkien did base his stories on the bible, then he did a very good job masking up the proof. But there is also the chance he never based any of the stories on the bible. That part would make perfect sense. But I feel like there is something having to do with the bible in his works, and I intend to find out.

Although if I had to take a guess on what story, I would say the return of the king has a bit of revelation in it. Why? Watch the movie, then read about the battles in Revelation and about what will happen to Satan.

